Browse Books by Year


Washington Chldren's Book Guild Non-Fiction Award Luncheon

The Washington Children's Book Guild will present Ann Bausum with its non-fiction award on Sat. April 29 at Clydes' Restaurant of Gallery Place. From 12 to 3 p.m. tickets are $35. Check out the Guild website for information on how to purchase

Award for an Outstanding Librarian

Scholastic Library Publishing Award (formerly Grolier) honors a librarian whose “unusual contribution” to the stimulation and guidance of children’s and young adult reading exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation, donated by Scholastic Library Publishing. Application can be found on the ALA website under Award, Grans and Scholarships.

All are invited to the Walter Awards March 18 at 10 a.m. the Library of Congress, Jefferson Building Room 119

Friday, March 18, 10am, The Library of Congress, Room 119 The award is the first named for Walter Dean Myers and funded by a grant from his estate to We Need Diverse Books to recognize books that best exemplify Walter's commitment to providing children with powerful mirrors and windows. This year's recipient is Jason Reynolds, author of When I was the Greatest, The Boy in the Black Suit and co-author of All American Boys.

Jane Addams Award Assistance

Hi all,  I'm in need of your help. I'm chairing the Jane Addams children's book award this year and as we compile our list, we are open to new titles we may have missed. These are top notch books that promote equity and peace. In the end, one book is awarded for older and one for younger readers. I'm including the link: You can email me suggestions at  Thanks for your brainpower!

Syndicate content